From the doctor of the Sundarbans to the activist for the rights of the victims of Bhopal, India pays tribute to its heroes | India News

NEW DELHI: President Ram Nath Kovind presented the Padma Awards on Monday to the recipients honored in 2020 for having spent years making a difference to the masses or contributing to their respective fields and disciplines.
Among those who presented the Padma medallion and the “sanad” during the civil inauguration ceremony held almost a year and a half after its postponement due to the Covid epidemic, were the late ministers of Union George Fernandes, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj; as well as actress Kangana Ranaut, film producers Karan Johar and Ekta Kapoor, MC boxing champion Mary Kom and double Olympic medalist PV Sindhu.
The winners for 2020 include former Mauritian President and Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth (posthumously), Sri Vishveshateertha Swamiji Sri Pejavara Adhokhaja ​​Matha Udupi (posthumously), classical singer Chhannulal Mishra (all conferred on Padma Vibhushan); the winners of Padma Bhushan Manohar Parrikar (posthumously), industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Srinivasan, former chief minister of Nagaland SC Jamir and politician J&K Muzaffar Hussain Baig; and the retired Air Force Medical Services CEO, Air Marshal Padma Bandopadhyay, who received the Padma Shri from President Kovind amid loud applause.
The civil inauguration ceremony, which was held in two separate sessions on Monday, was attended by Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and several cabinet ministers.
Some heroes who have spent their lives in social services and received Padma Shri in 2020 include Abdul Jabbar Khan who defends the victims of the Bhopal gas tragedy over the past three decades despite the loss of his family and 50% of his own view of poison. gas leak; Usha Chaumar, head of Sulabh International Social Service Organization; Harekala Hajabba, an illiterate fruit seller from Karnataka who provides affordable education to poor children; Arunoday Mondal, a doctor from West Bengal who treats patients in the remote Sundarbans; Ravi Kannan, an oncologist from Chennai who treats cancer patients in the Barak Valley in Assam; S Ramakrishnan, a specialist social worker who has rehabilitated over 14,000 disabled people in Tamil Nadu; and Rajasthani environmentalist Sundaram Verma who planted 50,000 trees.
The ceremony had its share of pomp with actress Kangana Ranaut arriving in an elegant cream saree to receive the Padma Shri. His sister Rangoli was there to encourage him. Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor, playback singers Suresh Wadkar and Adnan Sami also received this honor. Athletes who received the Padma Shri included Indian women’s hockey captain Rani Rampal,
Tweeting with the hashtag “PeoplesPadma”, Prime Minister Modi said: “I felt extremely happy to see successful people at the local level being recognized for their exemplary efforts for the public good… From the environment to the business, from agriculture to the arts, from science to social service, public administration to cinema… the recipients of the #PeoplesPadma come from diverse backgrounds. I urge you all to get to know each of the laureates and be inspired ”.
Home Secretary Amit Shah tweeted thanking winners Fernandes, Jaitley and Swaraj. Recognizing Fernandes’ selfless service to the nation, Shah tweeted: “From the era of emergency to various positions in government, he has contributed immensely to the progress of the nation.” On Jaitley, he tweeted: “His wisdom and experience in areas like law, finance etc. have made an unforgettable contribution to the development of India … Her dedication to national progress will always inspire us.
As for Swaraj, Shah tweeted, “The life of the late Sushma Swaraj was dedicated to the welfare of the people and the service of the nation. She will be remembered for having linked the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to the common people ”.
While Fernandes and Padma Vibhushan of Fernandes and Jaitley were received by their respective wives Leila Kabir and Sangeeta Jaitley, Swaraj’s daughter, Bansuri Swaraj, received the honor on behalf of her mother.

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply