President presents Padma Awards to late Kalyan Singh, actor Victor Banerjee and 52 others


Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, the late Kalyan Singh, often referred to as a Hindutva icon, and actor Victor Banerjee were among 55 distinguished personalities who received the Padma Awards from President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday .

This year, the first civil investiture ceremony was held on March 21 at Rashtrpati Bhavan during which 54 personalities received the Padma awards.

Prominent recipients of the second investiture ceremony included recipients of Padma Vibhushan Kalyan Singh (posthumously), during which the Babri Masjid was demolished in 1992, and classical singer Prabha Atre.

Singh’s son, Rajveer Singh, who is an MLA for Lok Sabha from the Etah of Uttar Pradesh, received the honor.

Padma Bhushan’s recipients include actor Victor Banerjee, as well as Krishna Murthy Ella and Suchitra Krishna Ella from Bharat Biotech, the maker of the coronavirus vaccine Covaxin, according to an official statement.

Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella and Google CEO Sundar Pichai were among those nominated for the Padma Bhushan. However, they were absent at Monday’s event.

Padma Shri winners include the country’s first individual Olympic gold medalist, Neeraj Chopra.

This year, no name has been announced for the “Bharat Ratna”, India’s highest civilian honour, which was last bestowed in 2019 on former President Pranab Mukherjee, social reformer Nanaji Deshmukh and famed singer Bhupen Hazarika.

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP Chairman JP Nadda were among those present at the occasion.

The awards are given in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second highest civilian honour, Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian honour, and Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian honour.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for outstanding and distinguished service, ‘Padma Bhushan’ for high level distinguished service and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

These awards are given in various disciplines such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, commerce and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports and public service. public.

The awards are announced annually on the eve of Republic Day and are bestowed by the President at ceremonies held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Since 2014, when it first came to power, the Modi government has honored many “unsung heroes” who have contributed to society in different ways with Padma Awards. This year’s total list includes four Padma Vibhushan awards, 17 Padma Bhushan awards and 107 Padma Shri awards.

Thirty-four of the laureates are women and the list also includes 10 individuals from the category of foreigners, non-resident Indians and overseas citizens of India, in addition to 13 posthumous laureates.

Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, former chief minister of West Bengal and leader of CPI-M, who was among the Padma Bhushan laureates, had refused to accept the honour.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


About Author

Comments are closed.